Wellness Wednesday: Sex to Cure the Common Cold

I have been feeling like complete CRAP the last three days. The timing couldn’t be any worse either; I’m visiting my husband for the week. Being a military wife can be tough, but when I see my man after a few weeks or months, it makes me appreciate him so much more.

But back to me and my sorrows.

So I ended up getting a full blown cold over the last three days. Stuffy nose, mucus, watery eyes, Wolverine-slashed throat… The works. Haven’t been sleeping well, and I feel like I resemble a real-life zombie from The Walking Dead. Being that Hubs has duty, I’m usually stranded in the hotel room and left to my own devices, which sucks. He has been taking good care of me when he can though.

Being that I only see him for a few days, of COURSE I’m gonna try to be all over him as often as possible. But you know how when you’re sick you don’t want anyone near you or touching you? Yeah… Me too. So I was having some pretty strong internal battles regarding:

To bang, or not to bang.

I’ve been so tired, feeling so hideous, and feeling like a guppy breathing out of my mouth and closing it for moisture every few minutes. So when he taps me wanting to bone, I’m looking like

IMG_2384.JPG

Asshole. I CAN’T BREATHE.

But upon researching, I discovered that sex can help heal your cold. Whaaa? Apparently, having sex increases the level of immunoglobulin A (IgA), which is the dominant antibody and first line of defense against colds, and helps boost the immune system. People who have sex 1-2 times a week have 33% higher levels of IgA in their system. Pretty good incentive, huh? BUT having sex 3+ times a week is said to have a similar effect to those who don’t have sex 1-2 times a week. So frequent sex is not so great for the immune system? Fail.

Also… Semen contains different hormones and prostaglandins that are actually mood enhancers when they enter a woman’s bloodstream through the vaginal wall. Having unprotected sex (with a trusted, clean partner) can put you in a better mood and make you feel better when you’re feeling shitty from a cold. Oxytocin is released during and after sex as well, which makes you feel loving and generous toward your partner, but also helps induce sleep and calmness. And of course, sweating during sex is good for “sweating out your cold”, and orgasms are simply amazing on their own!

Hubs still thinks I’m sexy even though I’m sick, so I gave in. And no lie, my stuffy nose cleared (although temporarily), I have no more fever, I’m in a good mood, and I just feel SO much better. Still shitty, but not AS shitty.

Next time you’re sick, get busy with your partner while you’re confined to bed trying to recover. Blow your nose before, do your makeup and hair if you feel the need, and hit the sheets! I bet that cold will be a couple days shorter, AND you’ll enjoy yourself a bit šŸ˜‰

– K. P.

3 comments

  1. LyfesLyrics · September 24, 2014

    Noted! lol I enjoyed reading this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

