Review: The Honey Pot Feminine Wash

Here in the A, we have a local natural health and wellness store called Sevananda that I browse on occasion. I don’t even need anything half the time, but I end up buying a bunch of new products to see if they work better than their non-natural counterparts.

On one of my last visits, I came across this bottle of foam called The Honey Pot. From my experience, a “honey pot” is cute slang terminology for our lady parts, and my honey pot is so sensitive that I have to use a separate washcloth and soap for her. I was prone to yeast infections, UTIs, and BV back to back for years until I got the BV under control, but I still get yeast infections and UTIs regularly unfortunately. I can only use certain products as well, wear natural panty liners every day, and I HAVE to clean up before and after sex. Hubs too.

She’s a pretty princess. And she sparkles.

tiana

The Honey Pot was packed in a cute foam bottle, and the ingredient label was pretty awesome. It contains 100% natural ingredients, including many different herbs, apple cider vinegar (which, as us natural folks know, is a sort of miracle liquid), hydrogen peroxide (never seen that in body care before but I know it does a great job at killing bacteria), and Castile soap. Sounds like perfection to me. At the time, I was using Summer’s Eve feminine wash from Walmart, which I broke my natural/organic pledge for, but I needed something that would keep my pH on par and wouldn’t irritate the Princess. And really, I was tired of using commercial stuff simply because I couldn’t find a natural alternative. So, I scooped up the bottle of The Honey Pot (which was the same size and fashion as my foaming setting lotion for my hair), although this particular bottle was for pregnant women, and hoped for the best.

When I got home, I looked up THP online to see what it was all about. I saw that it came in three different versions: Preggers (for pregnant ladies, due to the hormonal changes during pregnancy that can throw your whole body out of whack), Lavender (for us non-preggo ladies), and Young Ladies (for the whippersnappers who aren’t women yet but still want to practice good hygiene). I wanted to try the regular Lavender one, since I am not pregnant and, unless God has other plans, won’t be for the next couple years. I was still dying to try the product ASAP, so I hopped in the shower and read the directions.

Shake the bottle, three pumps into the hand, apply to outer vulva preferably with the hand, rinse with water. In a nutshell.

The smell is pleasant, light. Nothing offensive or perfume-y about it. The foam is smooth and soft, not too thick, and not watery. If you aren’t already familiar with your vulva, you will be after you use this wash. You have to apply the foam and get in, on, and around your labia, clitoral hood, ALLLLLLADAT. When I used Preggers, I felt a sort of “tingle”, maybe a slight burn. I think it could have been from the peroxide maybe. I tried it for a couple more days, same result. I was a tad confused, so I contacted the company’s founder, Beatrice. Beatrice was very sweet and very knowledgeable about her product. She also knew about the ingredients that help with recurrent infections like I have, and how to stop them naturally. She told me that the tingly sensation I am feeling is due to my pH being off and the product working to kill off bacteria that shouldn’t be there, but that I can try the Lavender wash to see if the sensation is different. She also told me that I may need to use it twice a day, and after sex. She allowed me to pick up a bottle of the Lavender wash to see if my results were better. That’s great business!

I got my paws on the Lavender wash thanks to Beatrice. Here is my paw on the bottle.

IMG_2251-0.JPG

IMG_2252-0.JPG

Same great consistency, same scent. I still got the tingly feeling, but it’s not unpleasant or uncomfortable. And I CAN report that my yeast infections and UTIs have been less frequent! I do feel clean after using it, and I usually apply the foam, leave it on while cleaning the rest of my body, then wiping the Princess down with a washcloth.

If your vaginal area is very sensitive, you’re a natural gal, and/or you have frequent infections, I definitely recommend The Honey Pot. If you love in ATL, hit up Sevananda to see if they have it. If not, you can order online!

Keep your honey pot happy!

K. P.

6 comments

  1. dottiedaniels · October 20, 2014

    While I am not too sensitive ‘down there’ it certainly helps to know about natural products that aren’t going to give a woman’s more sensitive skin a workout. I’d gladly use these products, either way. Thanks for the info! 🙂

    Like

    • goodblackloving · October 20, 2014

      No problem! It’s a great product, black owned, small business. I always try to support!

      Like

  2. Michele · December 22, 2014

    Thank you for your review. I have the absolute most sensitive pH. I just ordered this hoping that this will be the answer I need for some relief.

    Liked by 1 person

    • goodblackloving · December 22, 2014

      No problem, love! I hope it works for you, make sure you write back letting me know if it does!

      Like

  3. justvou · February 14, 2015

    The Honey Pot is the business! I haven’t experienced any yeast infection since I began using it two months ago.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Natural Vaginal Health Necessities | Good Black Loving

Leave a Reply

